When I Was A Girl

I grew up hearing tales of
Brahma Vishnu Shiva
was mad that no one had  much to say of Durga
couldn’t understand why Lakshmi, Saraswati and the likes  
got wedded off to one God or the other, one even had sons –
oh this obsession for family and sons.

Really didn’t give serious thought to Jesus Christ
in that sense.

Christ was to me
the cake that my best friend Jessica Suguna
gave me for Christmas,
I waited Sunday mornings outside the church
took her home, admiring her very frilly frock. 

Christ was also to me
the Father from the local chapel
who stood at the cross roads
near my childhood home reading aloud from the Bible.
I stood out listening, it seemed rude
to leave him all by himself.

Magpie Tales

3 thoughts on “When I Was A Girl

Leave a Reply

