All Is Well

My son graduates this year
plans to take a job first
then his management course  
gets less time each year
for his music
he plays the violin
has played at several concerts.
I have another son
older to this one
I give him his bath
hold his hand when
he rocks himself and cries
I know what he says
when he points to the clock
clap with him
when he sees an airplane
that makes him so happy
he goes to a special care centre for half day
that’s the time I go for my pedicure,
massages, shop for slippers
that I never get to wear.
Life is near perfect
I have nothing to complain.

(The speaker in the poem is my friend. I salute her optimism,
pocket her smile and place it in dark corners of my life to let it shine.)

Read Write Poem NaPoWriMo # 21 

7 thoughts on “All Is Well

Leave a Reply

