Will You Come?


The moon drove down with me
through
silent towns,
past
durgahs and temples,
market places fallen silent,
drunken cart drivers,
hospitals where the sick
sank through another night of pain,
mothers dealing with colic babies.

The moon was with me
through the 650 km drive
bathing me in silvery ruddiness.
Will you come with me
if I pull up my car
and walk into the pearly bowl of night
leaving the highway behind
and the life lived so far?
I don’t need to tell you this –
A journey of a thousand miles
begins with a single step.

Read Write Poem NaPoWriMo# 24
PAD Challenge ‘write an evening poem’

5 thoughts on “Will You Come?

  1. really enjoyed the way my mind meandered in this poem. I especially liked: “walk into the pearly bowl of night” and how you ended it with the phrase. Well done, Uma!

    ~Mark

Leave a Reply

