New Lease Of Life: A Terza Rima Sonnet

I sit at the window after my seventh cup of tea,
breeze flits like carefree butterflies,  I drowse.
Edge of my sleeping brain trembles with hum of bee:

Trapped,  rocketing blindness breaks hell my house;
in a curious moment, it pokes nose into imitation flower.
I don’t move, undisturbed  half moon sweat in my blouse,

I don’t lift my finger, sits on me the weight of the hour:
dreams like angels with flowing gowns rest on my eyes.
From the hills cascades of clouds bring merciful shower,

heat like monster in flight etherizes in crimson skies,
purple hibiscus with amber hearts disrobe in the breeze,
to dark nest of secret in the tree a wild parrot flies.

If I step out, feel the grass prickly under the trees,
shed the pall of stupor I’ll give my life a new lease.

Listen to this Tamil film song on ‘kodai kala katre’ (summer breeze) as you read the poem:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BmNkQ8lFNwE&feature=related

POW

7 thoughts on “New Lease Of Life: A Terza Rima Sonnet

  1. “I sit at the window after my seventh cup of tea,
    breeze flits like carefree butterflies, I drowse.” Exactly right … you have captured the moment perfectly!

  2. Some beautiful lines here and the soundtrack is intriguing, “purple hibiscus with amber hearts disrobe in the breeze” Evocative and worth several reads for additional meanings.

  3. Hi Uma,

    Definite sultriness to this piece and we can feel the weight of the air. The music has a floating dreaminess too!

Leave a Reply

