My Atlas

A gentle tap, a few more.
I am reading a book, tap tap: ignorable,
tap tap tap:
irritant like a gnat that I wave away,
tap tap tap tap tap: put my book down,
tap tap pause tap tap: distress.
He is caught in a loop that he can’t break,
thoughts distilled into the act:
lifting the tea mug placing it on the table
lifting the tea mug placing it on the table
lifting the tea mug placing it on the table
When I hold his hand
he looks imploringly. If I stop this
the world will end, he says.
I will die. Fear in his eyes.
He gently releases his hand from my hold
tap tap tap:
he is wired to a code.   

Big Tent Poetry

3 thoughts on “My Atlas

  1. I feel hushed, stilled inside as though I have seen something precious that I wasn’t supposed to see. But, your words, the repeats, the gentleness, make it clear and vivid. Thank you for showing it to me.

    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

