Address

When looked up from here the sky appears a tainted grey,
why do people dry their clothes on the frame of vision

where a bird visits, a dragonfly leaves tracing paper dreams?
As a girl I asked several times why I was born where I was born

in the dust, noise and grime. Rivers soaked through cheap posters,
in chants of  daily prayers, in brass pots kept as talisman;

over the years I learnt to grow ferns that carry mountain breeze
and every cloud bore rain as they passed over my house.  

Day 1
2011 April PAD Challenge – "What got you here" poem
 

One thought on “Address

  1. Hi Uma – I’m visiting your blog for the first time and came here through AprilPAD. Saw your poem in Robert’s blog, as well as your comment on Facebook.

    The description in the poem sounds very Indian, and I like how you have used the prompt.

Leave a Reply

