For You

Does anyone ask
if you climbed trees as a boy,
how many marbles you had?
Tell me all about it,
in that tale rests
the tale of my father.

In your heartbeat
my father comes alive,
my father’s father –
your teacher. Tell me all,
tell me the tale
I will never tire to hear.

Sift the leaves
in your cup of life –
children, grandchildren,
and those like
windswept flowers that
blow through your garden:

you hold them in thought,
wrap close to your heart.

Day 20
This poem is for my uncle on his birthday. 

One thought on “For You

Leave a Reply

