Places of Love: where I hold your name

Dearest, what happens to words that drop between us
like dust to build a hill; the curves and loops of letters that
travel to my throat to stifle me into silence, breathlessness.

I emerge from the lake, clear the algae that fall over my eyes,
but find you have turned away. And the sand has wiped my name:
kisses and caresses went to print my name there in you.

I hold the emptiness in my palms, hollow of words take the
shape of pain. I hold your name in my mouth, roll it in my tongue,
let love soak through my bones as I rebuild you breath by breath.

WWP : Epistle Poem can be philosophical, declarations of love, lessons on morality or lists of errands.

9 thoughts on “Places of Love: where I hold your name

  1. Your poem is beautiful in a delicate, fleeting way. It somehow captures the essence of the beloved that has turned away between its lines – the reader doesn’t need to “rebuild him breath by breath”, because his shape and essence can be guessed. You truly have a way with words. 🙂

  2. The entire poem left me breathless.

    Love poems can be overdone, and maudlin…but you truly have a talent and a mastery as this one demonstrates. There are so many great lines in this poem, my favorite being: “the curves and loops of letters that/travel to my throat to stifle me into silence.”

    -Nicole

Leave a Reply

