Apah*

इदमापः प्र वहत यत्किं दुरितं मयि
May the water cleanse me.
(Apah Suktam, Rig Veda)

The gut knots in loops of metal strings,
muscles tighten around my bag of seeds
as rain batters on the glass that trembles
first, then shakes in a shattering threat.
The night is drained of colours,  sedimented
like dark silt. I stretch my arms like octopus –
everything falls away from grasp , only
night dust that I carry in the cracks of skin
as the roof over my head blows away and
water rises  to my knees, hips, shoulders,
jaws, mouth, nose , eyes that break into
light bright, metallic, psychedelic where
noise includes silence, and darkness light.

*’Apah’ in Sanskrit means water.

Leave a Reply

